you're reading...
marathon

Tight Hamstrings – Recovery After Your Race

Hopefully by now, many of you may have run a race or two – especially those of you who live in warmer climates.  I ran my first race March 2 in Sarasota – a half-marathon. I shivered this past Sunday when I heard of those brave racers lining up this morning for the St. Patty’s Day 8K in DC. It was 35 degrees outside and while they were lining up waiting for the gun to blow off, I was sitting in my car, driving to Einsteins with my son to get a half dozen bagels and some coffee! In Sarasota, the day of my race, it was about 55 degrees but it quickly went up to about 75 at about 8 AM.

As many will discover, we are sometimes quite sore after running a race – even if it is only a 5K. The reason for this is because our muscles tighten after we exert ourselves on race day. The adrenaline that pumps through our veins allows us to exert ourselves more than we do while training. The end result is soreness – much like we would feel if we played a sport or did an activity we have not done in a while.  How we prepare for a race plays a large part in the level of soreness we experience after a race. For many who “wing it,” their soreness level will be a lot worse than for those of us who train.

Even if your hamstrings do not feel tight, pay attention to them anyway and stretch them properly as hamstring tension has far-reaching effects on movement, balance, and the joint  health.  I found a great site to look at for proper hamstring stretching.   Visit: http://www.somatics.com/hamstrings-and-knees.htm. It offers a completely a different perspective on proper stretching. I will be writing more on this topic.  My hamstrings were, hence the name of this blog, tight, and continue to be – and if I pay attention to any part of my body, it’s the back of my legs.  I’d love to hear from anyone who has this same experience. If your knees, buttocks, thighs and ankles feel pain, it might actually be due to tight hamstrings.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

