you're reading...
races

6.2 Miles at the PeachTree 10K

Runners wait to start

Runners wait to start

 

Atlanta’s PeachTree 10K is the world’s most populated race. Boasting race entries over 55,000 I had to join this group just to say I was there.

The race began promptly at 7 a.m. with the wheel chair race. At 7:30 a.m. the gun went off and the elite and seeded runners started.  

It took me 45 minutes to start the race. This picture to the right depicts the people behind me. It was just a massive swath of people. 

The race itself is not that interesting. You run downhill for the first three miles and basically straight uphill for the last 3 or so.  It was a balmy 74 degrees – in other words, hot for we northerners. I needed to dump water on myself about every mile or so and run through the sprinklers. It was just so humid that I was overheating. 

Starting Line

Starting Line

 

My time was decent. I ran somewhere between 60 and 62 minutes. I wanted to go faster – like 54 minutes but there were so many people I spent most of my time dogding them and running from one side of the road to the other to get water. All in all, I think I ran closer to 6.5 miles. 

My increased distance was confirmed in a conversation I overhead in the Marta as I rode home on mass transit. Apparently race organizers noted that to get an exact 6.2 mile race you had to run it as efficiently as possible or you could easily run more mileage.  I don’t know if that is true but let’s just say it makes me feel better. 

Elite Running Group 
More from the first groups

More from the first groups 

All in all the race was fun and crowded – but I covered about 11 miles the day of the race. I walked 2 miles to the start and about 3 miles at the end of the race to get to and from the Marta station. 

Now enough about me. The winner of the 39th annual 10K race took home a modest $15,000. The race is sponsored by the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and this year, the finish line was relocated to a new area. Due to the drought City of Atlanta announced the suspension of any Class A event (those that attract 50,000 people or more) from city parks. This was done to protect Piedmont park, the traditional ending site of the race, from the damage we all would have caused by walking all over the dry grass. 

Me at mile 2

Me at mile 2

 

Finish Line!
Finish Line!

Getting there! 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

