you're reading...
Training

Getting To the Core of My Running

By Alix Shutello

I ran a race the other day and was disappointed with the results. I don’t know what was worse, the fact that left hamstring which is always bothering me, was tight and prevented me from really extending or the fact that my cousin beat me in the race. Ok the latter is the real truth but the problem I am having with my thigh is associated with a tight back and weak core muscles that are not doing their job. Therefore, while I know I can do better, until I fix this problem, I won’t do better.

So I did not break out my P90X to do 400 sits ups a break neck speed. I knew I wasn’t ready. I decided instead to get up early and spend two weeks working my core and stretching my back while running on alternate days and cross training for my second workout. To really get me going I decided to work with a fitness trainer who has worked with runners with the exact problems I have. My first session is Monday of next week and I am raring to go – even though I’ll need to be out of the house by 4:30 AM.

The definition of insanity is to continue to do the same thing over and over again and expect the same result. Frankly, I am in great shape but my short distance runs are not as fast as I want them to be, so I have a lot of faith in my new trainer and will tell everyone all about her in the next week or so.  What I want to achieve is simple – a stronger core and faster times so that I can achieve my goals for 2011. I trust that she will whip me into shape.

Discussion

One thought on “Getting To the Core of My Running

  1. If you are interested in some cross-training that will strengthen your core, improve your endurance, increase your pace, and bring you to an overall higher level of fitness, I highly recommend CrossFit: http://www.crossfit.com. There are some local affiliates; I have to put in a plug for this one: http://www.crossfitextremefitness.com. I’ve seen outstanding results! Now if only I could control my diet….

    Posted by Shana Helton | December 13, 2010, 9:49 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

