you're reading...
On Location, running

On Location: 24K of Trails – Training for Soapstone

By Alix Shutello

The email started, “Hey Babe,” and I was hooked.  I am a sucker for a good intro to any email and when one of your best buddies in the whole world emails you and asks you for a training plan, well, you comply of course!

So my friend wants to train for Soapstone, so, knowing Evan like I do I  put his abilities aside and took look at the course and thanks to bloggers and YouTube, I was able to get familiar with the course. Here’s what I know.

1. It’s a fast start.

2. It gets hilly fast.

3. Sometimes, one gets lost.

4. There’s a combo of roads and trails that can be winding, rocky,  and “rolly.”

5. You’ll likely run into a little mud and water.

6. You are running in the mountains….so there are gonna be some sick hills you’ll hit not once….but twice (near the end).

7. The top guy is gonna win this race in a little over an hour and a half and top tens come in just under 2 hours for approx 14 + miles or so.

Evan’s gonna need to do hill work outs. He’s a die-hard cyclist and a strong trail runner but needs to build speed, balance, and distance to run a strong race. He tends to run in Vibram FiveFingers.  That may need to change but we’ll see. To get in some of the workouts he needs, he may need to hit the treadmill to practice running on inclines. Also, since I know the trail route he runs near his home in Ashland, he may need to do some speed drills up and down the short hills so that he builds speed and coordination since the course is hilly and rocky. He’ll need to start running long on weekends to get endurance. Since he has until May, he’ll have time or so to get up to 14 or 15 miles before race day.

I’ll get his individualized plan done this weekend and sent off to him.  If I’m lucky, I’ll be there to cheer him on, or if my injuries manage to heal well, I may just join him in Connecticut this May 20, but my travel schedule will probably not allow it.

See the Soapstone Video

English: Vibram FiveFingers Bikila shoes, top ...

Image via Wikipedia

Blogs: 2011 Soap Stone winner Jim Johnson

Blogs:  Steve Wolfe

Race Sponsor, Shenipit Striders

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Feed

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

